Book Reviews

Book Review: Charmcaster by Sebastien De Castell

Happy Monday bookish people! This is book review four of seven for today. This one is for Charmcaster by Sebastien De Castell, it is the third book in the Spellslinger series.

In this book review I will give star ratings for four categories and I will write a little about each one. I will try to keep it as spoiler free as possible. I hope you enjoy my book review.

Charmcaster Plot:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

This is the third book in the series so I have already been immersed in the world Castell has built and this book continued the beautiful imagery that the first two presented. I loved the uniqueness of this plot and how it tied in details from Shadowblack and Spellslinger, it felt so comfortable for me to be back in this world.

Charmcaster Characters:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

As I said above, I was already immersed in this world so I knew the main characters Kellen, Ferius and Reichus very well by this point but there were some characters brought back from the first book that I felt added to the enjoyment of this book.

Charmcaster Writing and Dialogue:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I love Sebastien De Castell’s writing style, he is effortlessly witty, charming and creates complex plots and characters. He also created a very flawed protagonist who really should not still be alive at this point but of course I’m glad he is.

Charmcaster Overall:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

This book, the same as the other books in the series, is a four star for me because I enjoyed every moment of it and I can’t wait to begin the fourth book in the series which is on my August TBR.

Blurb/Synopsis:

The third book in the page-turning Spellslinger fantasy series.

‘I was getting almost as good at running away from enemies as I was at making them in the first place. Turns out, I wasn’t running nearly fast enough.’

Kellen has begun to master his spellslinging and the Argosi tricks for staying alive, and he and Reichis have found a career that suits them both: taking down mercenary mages who make people’s lives miserable. But Ferius is concerned that Kellen is courting disaster . . .

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

That’s it for this book review, I hope you all enjoyed it.

Book Tags, Uncategorized

Cake Flavoured Book Tag

Good morning bookish people! It’s Friday again. This week has been a rough one for me, my Mum has had to have a big operation so it’s been rather stressful. So I thought for today’s post I’d do a short. light-hearted book tag about cake. I mean who doesn’t like cake?! I found this tag on ZeeZeewithbooks. Let me know- what’s your favourite type of cake? And what books would you answer these questions with?

Enjoy!

Starting off very nicely with chocolate cake: a dark book that you absolutely love?
For this one I’m going to go with The Bear and the Nightengale by Katherine Arden. It was my first five star read of 2021 and I LOVED it, the atmosphere is really dark though and I’ve heard that the series gets darker…

Vanilla cake: A light read?
Hmm… most of the books I read are pretty dark fantasies but one that is coming to mind is Blooming Grand by Carmella McKenzie about a girl, a boy, a garden shop and a little it of magic. It’s light hearted and just a lovely story.

Red Velvet Cake: A book that gave you mixed emotions?
Ooh, so many! I think I’m going to go with The Merciful Crow by Margaret Owen. It was good and I enjoyed it but I didn’t love it, in particular the ending. Confession time.. I have never had red velvet cake…

Cheesecake: (I love cheesecake!) A book you would recommend to anyone?
The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern hands down! It’s my favourite book, I suggested my friend read it – she did and loved it, it’s just a wonderful, magical, whimsical book.

Coffee Cake: A book you started but never finished?
I am ashamed to say it but this has to be The City of Brass by S A Chakraborty, I rarely don’t finish books but I put this one down to do something and just could not find the motivation to pick it back up. I will eventually but right now.. not so much. It’s a big book.

Carrot Cake: A book with great writing?
Again, so many! For this one I think I’ll go with the Spellslinger series by Sebastien De Castell. I love this series, it hooked me from the first page and the writing, I think, is brilliant.

Tiramasu: A book that left you wanting more:
This tag is full of tough decisions! I’ll choose Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson for this one. Simply because it’s a stand alone book that ends on a sort of cliffhanger and when I finished reading it I would have given pretty much anything to find out what happened after that ending.

Cupcakes: A series with 4+ books?
I literally can’t choose one for this, pretty much all of my books are in series’ longer than four books… nope, I can’t do it. I won’t choose between them!

And finally Fruit Cake: A book that wasn’t what you anticipated?
The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman, not in a bad way, I enjoyed the book and I’m going to continue with the series but I expected James Bond mixed with librarians but it wasn’t like that at all.

That’s it for this book tag, I hope everyone enjoyed it!

Fan Casting Books

Spellslinger by Sebastien De Castell – Fan Casting

It’s Friday! I hope everyone is having a good day – and a good week, I haven’t posted my usual Wednesday blog post this week because I wasn’t very well after having the first vaccine. Thankfully I’m better now and I’m here with something I haven’t done before. As you will have seen from the title today I will be telling you who I would choose to play some of the main cast of characters in Spellslinger (the first book in the series) by Sebastien De Castell if it was ever turned into a film or TV series.

It was very difficult to choose these, I tried to stick to the physical descriptions of the characters if there is one in the book but also personalities.

So, first there is the protagonist of the series: Kellen.

For Kellen I went with Asa Butterfield (Merlin, Sex Education) because I think he would be able to portray Kellen’s slightly clumsy, always accidentally being in the middle of trouble, sarcastic personality quite well. Kellen is described as having straw blonde hair and blue eyes, which Asa sometimes has. Well, he always has blue eyes but his hair is naturally dark but is sometimes blonde. Asa could do both the serious and the lighter sides of the story justice as the character of Kellen.

Next is Ferius Parfax:

Mandatory Credit: Photo by Gregory Pace/REX/Shutterstock (10188748ae) Julianne Moore Variety’s Power of Women, Arrivals, New York, USA – 05 Apr 2019

Julianne Moore! When I first got the books, I got the complete series all in one go because I just knew I would love it, and I saw on one of the covers the illustration of Ferius Parfax I instantly was picturing Julianne Moore playing the character. I’m still not sure why but I think she would play her attitude very well.

My favourite character – Reichis:

Of course for Reichis it would be all about the voice rather than physical appearance, I mean I assume they wouldn’t be able to find a real talking squirrel cat who likes to eat eyeballs… anyway, there’s a lot of great voices out there and I could not decide on one, my friend suggested Danny John-Jules (Death In Paradise). Her reasoning was that he’s got a great voice and he’s sarcastic (this is actually what she said) which is basically Reichis so this is who I’ll choose. In case you’re wondering my friend’s second choice was Danny DeVito.

Kellen’s Sister – Shalla:

For Kellen’s younger sister Shalla I would probably choose Chloe Grace Moretz, I have seen her in quite a few films and she plays a variety of characters very well. Shalla is a high achiever but she is very close to Kellen and I think that Chloe and Asa would work well together in this way.

Father of Kellen and Shalla – Ke’heops:

This was another very difficult choice because there are a lot of great actors who would work for this role. I ended up choosing Joe Manganiello. I haven’t seen this actor in anything personally but I did recognize the name and when I looked on google his physical appearance looked a lot like the illustration of Ke’heops on the most recent book in the series, Crownbreaker. Is it just me that thinks he looks similar to the illustration? It’s probably just me.

Finally, Nephania:

I would choose Felicity Jones to play Nephania. After Julianne Moore as Ferius, Felicity Jones as Nephania was the easiest casting choice for me to make because she has the brown hair physical appearance of Nephania and she also has that slightly innocent quality that the character has but she can also be fierce when she needs to be. That is one of the things I like about the character of Nephania.

Okay, there we go, that is all of the characters that I will be fan casting today. There are many other characters in the book but no others that I felt were described clearly enough for me to choose someone to play them.

Only a short post today, I hope you found it fun and I hope you enjoyed it. Let me know what other books you think I should do a fan casting for!