Book Reviews

Book Review: The Three Dahlias by Katy Watson

Happy Monday bookish people! What’s better on a rainy Monday morning than a good book review about a cosy mystery.

As always in this book review I will give star ratings to four categories and I will write a little bit about each one. I will do my best to not include any spoilers in the book review. I hope you enjoy it!

The Three Dahlias Plot:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

This book combines some of the best elements of Golden Age Detective Fiction/ Cosy Crime genres such as the isolated location, who doesn’t love a murder mystery set in an old manor house, a close knit cast of characters, and a bunch of intriguing twists. The Three Dahlias is based on the three actresses who have, and will have, played the character of Dahlia in different shows and films throughout the years. They come together for a Dahlia convention and then actually find themselves having to work together to solve a crime. I really enjoyed this take on the murder mystery, I haven’t read many novels or actually any that come to mind with three main protagonists but it was a nice way to make the reader feel part of the group.

The Three Dahlias Characters:

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

As much as I enjoyed each of the three characters individually, I sometimes felt that when they were together in the same scenes they blended into each other and the character development wasn’t as good. However, I still enjoyed the three female main characters being the ones to try and solve the mystery.

The Three Dahlias Writing and Dialogue

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I haven’t got much to say for this category because the writing was good, it allowed me to not think about the writing at all because I was engrossed in the story and that is a sign of a good writing style.

The Three Dahlias Overall

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I gave this book four stars overall because it was an enjoyable twist on the murder mystery genre.

Blurb/Synopsis:

Three rival actresses team up to solve a murder at the stately home of the author who made them famous – only to discover the solution lies in the stories themselves. A contemporary mystery with a Golden Age feel, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Jessica Fellowes.

In attendance: the VIP fans, staying at Aldermere; the fan club president turned convention organizer; the team behind the newest movie adaptation of Davenport’s books; the Davenport family themselves – and the three actresses famous for portraying Lettice’s 1930s detective, Dahlia Lively.

National treasure Rosalind King, from the original movies. TV Dahlia for thirteen seasons, Caro Hooper. And ex-child star Posy Starling, fresh out of the fame wilderness (and rehab) to take on the Dahlia mantle for the new movie.

Each actress has her own interpretation of the character – but this English summer weekend they will have to put aside their differences, as the crimes at Aldermere turns anything but cosy.

When fictional death turns into real bodies, can the three Dahlias find the answers to the murders among the fans, the film crew, the family – or even in Lettice’s books themselves?

That’s it for this book review, I hope you all enjoyed it!

Monthly Wrap Ups

October Wrap Up!

Happy Monday bookish people! I hope you all had a great October! If you have seen my November TBR that I posted on Friday then you will know that my October was so busy, with my sister getting married, working towards my RDC2 and meeting a potential guide dog match (I will be posting about this on Friday if you are interested in knowing more about it).

So, my reading month in October was much better than it has been recently so that has made the month a lot more enjoyable. And now I am going to share with you which books I managed to read this month. Let me know in the comments if you have read any of these, what you thought of them and what you read in October!

October Wrap-Up!

  • Beach Read by Emily Henry – I did not read this
  • Devil Makes Three by Tori Bovelino – I did not read this one
  • Nothing more to tell by Karen M McManus – I was so excited to read this one but I didn’t manage to get around to it this month
  • Pages and Co 3 by Anna James – I did read this one and as with the rest of the series, I really enjoyed it.
  • Finale by Stephanie Garber – I did not read this
  • Belladonna by Adalyn Grace – another book I was so looking forward to reading but I didn’t get to this month
  • The Three Dahlias by Katy Watson – I did read this book and loved it
  • Miss Marple short stories collection – I read this one too
  • Once Upon A Broken Heart by Stephanie Garber – I did not read this either
  • A Fatal Crossing by Tom Hindle – I did not read this
  • Your Turn to die by sue wallman – I did not read this one either
  • European Travels for the Monstrous Gentlewoman by Theodora Goss – This book is huge, so I did not read it this month
  • Devil’s Advocate by Steve Cavanaugh – I did not read this either

outside of my October TBR I also read The Twyford Code by Janice Hallett which I also really enjoyed.

So, this month I read four books which is a great amount for me at the moment.

That’s it for my October Wrap-Up, I hope you enjoyed reading it!